Skip to content

Midwest Maine Lobster Boat – {part 25}

January 31, 2013

I might have broken off the work on the Denny-Zen prematurely.   When I began to work on the Phylly C,  it was without the fervor that I had before.   With this build,  I have to switch gears…..but I find it’s not as synchronized as I would like it to be.   I ended up stopping the session early,  to regroup my thoughts and give myself more time.   I did manage to make the funnels for both boats,  as well as sand the grab rails and make a couple other parts.   To make the funnels,  I am going to make them from wood dowel.   Usually,  I make them from brass tubing,  but due to the lack of it,  I decided to improvise.   With both lengths of 5/16 dowel measured out,  they were cut on an angle,   each one a bit differently.

I intend to hollow out the angled section of wood dowel,  to give the impression that it is hollow.   To make the holes larger and make the walls thinner,  I made a special sanding stick…….a round one.

#1

#2

Once these segments were drilled out,   they were enlarged with the round sanding stick.   During this task,  I also worked on the grab rails,  sanding them to shape and prepping them for paint.

#3

Once the segments were sanded out sufficiently,  they were cemented on their appropriate stack shafts,  in the continuation of their assembly.

#4

#5

#6

The larger one belongs to the Denny-Zen.

#7

The grab rails were completed by this time,  waiting for paint.

#8

The funnels were painted steel……the grab rails were painted white.   The underside of the roof was painted white as well……and the little box…..box??

This box belongs to the Denny-Zen.   There was a suggestion given to me that makes a lot of sense…….I will add it in.   It is to be an electrical box,  where it is to go…….I will show you when the time comes.

#9

I like the way the funnels came out.   I started to work on the next aspect for this boat…….but the spirit was weak.   My favorite show was on the television, and my dog Gibbs,  was hinting to me that he wanted me to sit in my recliner.

Once I sat down,  he settled on the floor and started chewing on his favorite chew stick.   We do this from time to time…….he and I…….except I would be taking a power nap.   No matter……this is just as good a reason,  as any.   So,  here it ends,  for the time being…….I’ll pick up where I left off later…..or even tomorrow,  if I don’t.   I will leave you with this one last picture…..perhaps you can tell me what these parts are to be……..they are still in the thought process,  at the moment.

#10

AHOY!!!

From → build log

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment