Skip to content

Chesapeake Bay Flattie – Midwest {part 4}

August 30, 2016

The bow stem was cemented on next…….one heck of a piece of timber.   I pre drilled a hole though it as instructed………once making sure that it would fit flush,  it was cemented on the bow.

100_4300

100_4301

I was going to attempt to whittle it down a bit,  but thought better of it.   Now,  it needs to be sanded to a point,  and then slightly blunted at the tip.   The bottom will be sanded flush to the chafing planks and sanded to a rounded shape……same goes for the top.   It took a little while,   but I got the job done…….it came out pretty good.

100_4306

100_4307

I wanted to do something with the rudder……to me,  just cementing it to the stern post isn’t going to do.   Two marks were made …..an upper and a lower,  and two notches were made.   A hole was drilled through the bottom part and down through the top part.   They continue past the gaps and into the center piece,  so that pins could be inserted.

100_4308

As for the rudder…….I tried to drill holes into it in the same increments,  but found the thickness to be a problem.   The rudder is 3/16 thick,  so I made another one from some 1/8 thick flat stock,  that I had lying around.   I drilled the holes and inserted eye bolts.

100_4309

The edges of the new rudder will be sanded to a rounded shape.   Next,  a tiller will be fitted to it,  and after it is painted,  installed onto the model.   I am a little off with the ‘pintle rings’ ,  so I’ll make the adjustments and cap the bottoms to form some sort of gungeon assembly.  It will look much better than just cemented on there.

AHOY!!!

Sorry……I like my Cheerios with at least a little milk!  Hee…..Hee

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment