Skip to content

Chesapeake Bay Flattie – Midwest {part 9}

September 23, 2016

This will be very short and sweet……….only because I’m trying to clear up my computer and clean house…….so to speak.   I had cut out the tiller from some scrap wood.   Ever since then,  I have been sanding and molding it…….and even breaking it in the process.

100_4381

This is what it looks like at the present.   It probably could be a little shorter……and the attachment to the rudder needs to be refined more.   I’m still working on it……..I need to get the cockpit cap rails cemented in place,  before I even think about cementing this in place anyway.   Work in progress.   The other aspect I corrected is the trim on the front cabin wall.   It runs flush with the roof edge,  so to remedy that,  I used the 3 mm painted trim to cover everything up and tie in the corners.

100_4382

I used white glue on the roof,  so I left the rubber band on a bit longer.   If I had used CA,  it might have clouded the cello in the windows.   CA likes to do that……..I wasn’t taking any chances.   I didn’t get too much further,  other than look over the rigging plans and study the look of the sails.   I hope to get in another good session on this build.   Still more to go.

AHOY!!!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment