Skip to content

Chesapeake Bay Flattie – Midwest {part 7}

September 23, 2016

More progress was done on the Flattie.   I used the tinted cello I had found for the cabin windows.   I really like this stuff……….if you would like to get some,  I’m sure it can be found in auto part stores or department stores with an automotive section.   The instructions show a roof beam for the cabin……I added two.

100_4362

I wasn’t sure what color I wanted to paint the deck sheer.   Deciding that I wanted the roofs  and trim to be flat white,  I decided on flat deck tan.

100_4363

The transom was painted finally,  correcting the uneven bottom paint line.

100_4366

There was a gap on the starboard side aft cockpit bulkhead,  where it joins the side wall of the cockpit.   A small piece was removed,  and a 1/16 piece of square stock was cemented in place,  closing the gap.

100_4367

The kit supplies mahogany 1/16 square stock for the trim work.   There is to be some along the deck sheer and the sides of the hull.   I did the deck sheer trim first.

100_4368

The way they show the hull trim to run……I’m not too crazy about it.   It is also to be done with the square stock.   In changing this,  I took a couple strips of .05 x 3 mm mahogany,  along with some other strips that I’ll be needing,  and painted them all flat white.   I will show you what I have planned in the next session.

AHOY!!!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment