Skip to content

Chesapeake Bay Flattie – Midwest {part 2}

August 30, 2016

I should also tell you that this build started a few weeks ago……around the beginning of August.   Here it is,  almost the end of the month,  and I’m just now getting around to starting the build log on her.   Actually,  I wasn’t going to do one…….but I think it just wouldn’t be right.  This is the second Midwest kit I’ve bought……but I think you should know that Midwest sold the model division of their company off to another company…if I find out who,  I’ll let you know.   So,  when the cabin side had set long enough,  they were fitted in place on the model.   There are a few Issues with the fit.

100_4279

They need to be bent a bit more,  but can be clamped……so that’s a minor issue.   One bigger issue,  is that the port front joint of the cabin is a bit too short…..I had to shim a sliver of material on the bulkhead end…..you probably can see it in the picture above.

100_4280

Here is a better shot of it……..the top edges can be brought flush with one another easy enough.   The cockpit deck end……well,  it will take a little bit more effort.   The tab on F4 hangs a bit too low,  causing a gap between the inner wall and the deck.

100_4281

I had to separate the tab wood,  and bend it up,  so the gap will be closed.   The rest of the fitting issues can be fixed with sanding….so we’re good.  The keel stringers and the chine stringers are the next step.   The slots for the keel stringers had to be enlarged,  so they would fit properly.   As for the chine stringers…..the transom end had to be cut at an angle, to be flush with the transom bulkhead.   At the bow,  the stringer had to be cut diagonally,  so it would merge with the keel stringer.   This had to be done on both sides.

100_4282

After both side were done,   the sides and bottom were sanded,  so that the hull panels would sit flat.   The instructions made me laugh…..they referred to them as planking.   I don’t think they know what planking is.

AHOY!!!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment