Skip to content

Chesapeake Bay Flattie – Midwest {part 10}

October 21, 2016

I did this a while ago,  back in September.   I was hoping that I could keep up with it,  along with the trawler,  but I got carried away.   I need to make the sail for this one…..I’ve been working on the mast,  boom,  and gaff……it’s that close towards being finished.   The mast is ready for paint,  having been fitted with eye bolts and some of it’s parts.

100_4402

The cockpit cap rail has been added to the model.   I did make a goof,  that needed to be corrected…….it was,  and touched up with paint.

100_4403

100_4404

The next aspect to be assembled,  is the hatch and cockpit entrance.   I needed to trim the roof edge,  so it would sit flush with the cabin bulkhead.  The hatch itself was assembled per the instructions.

100_4405

The framework was then painted with the cobalt blue,  while the roof and door got painted with flat white.

100_4407

Meanwhile……..the Flattie sits patiently for her new parts.

100_4408

…..and then,  with a quick flurry of activity,  changes take place.   She now has her hatch and cabin door.

100_4409

100_4410

The stand was also assembled for this model.  I didn’t like the kit version,  so I made up my own.

100_4413

It was taken to the garage,  and painted a flat gray…….the same color as the bottom paint of the Flattie.   It still needs some felt to resist scratching,  but this is what the model will look like perched on it.   It has plenty of clearance,  should I change my mind and show a deployed center board,  which will protrude form the bottom of the hull.

100_4414

More progress to come.

AHOY!!!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment