Skip to content

Midwest Maine Lobster Boat – {part 26}

January 31, 2013

Needless to say,  I never got back to what I was doing.   I ended up watching an NCIS marathon………with Leroy Jethro Gibbs……the fellow who my dog Gibbs is named after…….love the show! 🙂

Those parts you last saw……I’m sure you figured out what they were for,  but here they are in application.

#1

#2

They were the sides and fronts for the seats.   As parts were added to them,  it became apparent,  that they are the framework for them.

#3

#5

#6

The tops were fashioned next……..due to the lack of large pieces of flat stock, cast off was cut square and cemented together.

#4

#7

#8

#9

When both seat tops were fleshed out……the next step was to cover them.   I consulted my highest authority,  as for what to use to fluff them up a little,  and she suggested cotton balls.   I selected the best shaped cotton balls,  and cut them into slices,  cementing and shaping them on the tops.   Then they were covered with the same material that I used for the sails of the Susan A.

#10

#11

#13

In the meantime,   the seat frames were painted in the same colors of the hull, and defined with a black stripe around the middle.

#12

#14

#15

#16

#17

The last thing done at this time,  was to cement the grab rails on the fore cabin roof.   I would have cemented it in place,  but the windows still need to be cemented in.   The waterlines will be the next aspect to be done…….this will be interesting…….since there will be two.   you’ll see.

AHOY!!!

From → build log

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment