Skip to content

Midwest Maine lobster Boat – {part 24}

January 29, 2013

I can now do these two builds in tandem……the Denny-Zen and the Phylly C.   I am so happy that I am now able to do this.   For the first REAL tandem assembly step to be done,  will be the hatch on the fore cabin roof.   The instructions tell you to simply cement the hatch in place,  no hinges or handle…….I find that to be sort of boring.   I made the Denny-zen hatch,  to be a sliding hatch,  so I will copy the assembly here as well.   The measurements are the same….the hatch is 1 1/2 inches square,  so the slide rails need to be 3 inches long.   Four 1/16 X 1/16 X 3 inch pieces of strip stock were cut,  to be assembled with four 1/32 X 1/8 X 3 inch pieces of strip stock,  to make them.

#1

The roofs were not painted yet,  so cementing them in place will be quite easy.

#2

This picture gives the impression that they are crooked……here is another angle to show them better.

#3

Then,  after the rails were dry,  the hatch was prepped with handle holes and dry fitted in place.

#4

At this time,  the roofs were painted.   I was going to paint them white,  but I didn’t think it would look good.   They were painted to match the deck as close as possible,  with a deck tan.   When dry,  everything was refitted again.   The hatches were painted to match the main boat’s color.

#5

I was quite impressed when I saw them together……unfortunately,  I didn’t get a picture of them.   There’s always next time.

AHOY!!!

 

From → build log

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment